Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Webinar: Judy Blume and Banned Books Week

Defending the Right to Read:
Celebrating Banned Books Week
 
September 28, 2010
2 p.m. EDT/1 p.m. CDT/12 p.m. MDT
11 a.m. PDT
 
Librarians and teachers face more challenges than ever when it comes to defending children’s right to read. In celebration of Banned Books Week, this webinar features a stellar panel of experts, including renowned author and longtime advocate of intellectual freedom Judy Blume, who will discuss book rating systems, the impact of the Internet on challenges, the effect of censorship on children’s publishing, and how to best prepare for book challenges. 
 
A dditional speakers include Beverly Horowitz, Vice President and Publisher of Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers; Pat Scales, former school librarian and a member of the National Coalition against Censorship Council of Advisors; Kristin Pekoll, a young-adult librarian at the West Bend (WI) Community Memorial Library; and Nanette Perez, program officer at ALA’s Office for Intellectual Freedom. 
 
Seating is limited for this exciting webinar sponsored by Random House Children’s Books; however, all registrants will receive an archived video of the live event.
 
bannedbooks_sponsor.jpg

No comments: